The legal drinking age is 21 in Texas, as well as motorists under this age are charged with DUI (driving while intoxicated). If you are founded guilty of drunk driving in Texas, you may confront a year behind bars, a penalty approximately $10,000, or social work. In Texas, the legal blood alcohol concentration for drivers 21 and also older is 0.08%. Those under the age of 21 might be charged with a Course B misdemeanor, and those under 18 can be charged with a Class A violation. There are lots of points that can affect the accuracy of a breath test, and it is very important to hire a Houston Area drunk driving legal representative who has experience in testing the accuracy of a breath examination and can deal with to suppress proof in your case. For example, a breath examination can be unreliable due to the fact that a machine may not have been calibrated properly as per state needs, or due to the fact that you did not consume alcohol any kind of alcohol in any way. You can get intoxicated while driving in a cars and truck, SUV, or other type of vehicle throughout the state. Even if you do not use alcohol, you can still be intoxicated by prescription drugs and also various other compounds that influence your driving abilities. Whether you drive on the highway or in a rural area, you can be detained for driving intoxicated of drugs or alcohol. If you create a mishap and also harm someone while intoxicated of medications or alcohol, you can be billed with drunkenness attack, a third-degree felony. Every chauffeur in the state of Texas abides by suggested approval laws that need them to take sobriety examinations if they think they suffer. These consist of an area soberness examination and a chemical test that gauges BAC degrees in urine or blood. If you reject an area soberness examination, your license will certainly be put on hold for 180 days. You can combat this suspension by asking for a hearing with the Department of Public Security (DPS) or you can look for the help of a seasoned Ft Well worth drunk driving defense lawyer. In the state of Texas, refuting a chemical examination of your blood or breath is an infraction that can cause a suspension of your permit. This is because a refusal is considered to be an infraction of the suggested consent regulation. The state additionally requires you to send to a blood, pee, or breath test when the cops stop you for uncertainty of disability. If you reject an examination, your certificate will certainly be immediately suspended and you can also be detained for a DUI or DWI. If you are encountering a fee of drunk driving or DUI in Texas, contact the Benken Law Firm right now. We will supply you with a complimentary preliminary appointment to discuss your lawful choices in fighting the costs. We will assess your situation and also develop a solid defense for you.